The Eve of Destruction

Another one that is just as relevant today as when it came out during the Vietnam war. This is Barry McGuire who popularized the song written by P. F. Sloan and recorded in 1965.

I wanted to add the lyrics to this song but it is protected by copywrite and I do not use any material that isn’t my own and is not in the public domain. If you want to see the lyrics, go to a search engine and ask for them. You will find several places, some less strict than others, but again, I don’t knowingly intrude on copywrites unless I have permission from the person holding it.

8 thoughts on “The Eve of Destruction”

      1. Humans seem to get bored quickly with peace, and if peace lasts too long, if there is no ’cause’ to fight for, nobody to hate, they create a diversion to stir things up a bit. A fatal flaw in the human species, I’d say.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Your sound track brought tears to my eyes, because, while I never paid much attention to the lyrics, I was 13 in 1965 and not directly touched by Vietnam. Only later did I expand my understanding of the US’ historical involvement in war, and its unceasing attempts to expand its empire.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I had just had my first child when this came out. An uncle was already in Nam flying helicopters to evacuate the injured. My brother was told his number was coming up and he should join his choice of service rather than wait for the draft. He joined the Air Force during a short trip home. A lot of my classmates were sent there and some never came home. It was a horrible time in the lives of everyone.

      Thank you for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You got that right, Jill. One of my past hates was Johnson’s “Wars” on everything from poverty to hunger to I don’t remember what. Just everything was a war on whatever it was. That sure didn’t help.

    Like

Leave a comment