Stuff And Frustration

What more can I say to that? I’m doing a lot of stuff these days and stuff is the only way to put it.

Well, I could have tried Frustrations after a day like this one, but I’m trying to overcome my frequent frustration when things don’t go the way I planned. Best solution is to stop planning, but then I wouldn’t know what to do next. Oh wait! I really don’t know what to do next most of the time. So, I just added the frustration part to the title.

Todays frustrating moments began during the night actually. The quilt block I was appliqueing got stuck under the presser foot of the sewing machine. I’ve had things stuck before, but this one was BIG TIME stuck. I think it took the better part of an hour to free things up and then I just shut the machine off and finished the book I was reading.

Later in the morning (at least 4 a.m.) I tried the machine out again and something seemed really wrong. Needle threader didn’t work, no where close to working, and when I tried sewing the clanking was loud enough to wake the dead. After an hour spent trying to figure out what was wrong I decided to change the needle! Brilliant idea! It didn’t look bent but the new needle didn’t make the noise and worked out. So I began appliqueing again. Did the leaf of a flower before really checking how it looked. Oops, I didn’t check to make sure there was thread in the bobbin. Replaced the bobbin and started sewing again…but didn’t notice the top thread had broken. By that time it was time for breakfast so I turned everything off and tried reading again.

Tried is the key word here. My Kindle, which holds all of my books began having several kinds of fits. Jumped around like, well, like a Mexican jumping bean! No way to read through that, so turned it off for a while. Fortunately I have the Kindle app on the laptop and my phone, so first I read from the laptop but that isn’t very good so switched to the phone. Happy to say it works, Now to wait out the fit the Kindle is having so I can reset it all again. Poor little device. I think I’ve overloaded it and used it too much and it is just very tired.

So, walking past the pin holder — straight pins and magnetic holder, I managed to hit the side of it and it hit the floor. It’s amazing how those little things can go when they bounce! Thankfully, I have a telescoping magnet that got them up — at least the ones I saw, but my eyes are old now and they don’t always see what I want them to see so I’ll probably be finding pins for a few days now.

And so far we are still talking about the morning hours. Big sigh! it was a bad morning. So to try to recover from the morning I sat out in the sun for a long time after lunch and let my bones thaw out a bit.

Now to see if I can find a few photos of some of the things I’ve done while I try to do another quilt block on the machine. Time will tell.

Now, before you think the day was a total bust, it really wasn’t. My sewing machine works now, I’ve had two of the best meals of the week that are served only on Friday, I spent some time soaking up sunshine this afternoon and finally thawing the chill that was taking over, and just now, while looking for something else I think I might have found the password that could possibly hook my laptop to the printer. More later on that!