Wednesday Morning, 4 am

Another one of those nights. I actually got an hour of sleep but that’s just not enough. That groggy feeling never goes away now. But things could be worse — I could have missed that hour of oblivion and had another of the sleepless nights. Hey, sometimes ya just have to look for the sunshine in the shadows in order to remain sane!

I had burgoo for supper last night. My brother brought me a few containers of that ambrosia and I called my aunt to see if she wanted to join me for that. Silly question. Most of the people in this area love burgoo. Daviess County is the place to be for the real thing. Several other places advertise they have it but they serve a knockoff version with things like squash and beans in the mix. The only thing worse that that would be putting peas in the pot.

It’s hard to believe that there is only one week left in April. Time is speeding by, and dare I say it? Christmas is only 8 months away! How many people have started planning for that? I have. Already working on Christmas gifts for the family. Of course that is for Christmas before last! No matter how I work it I seem to remain a year or two behind. Question: how many of you still send Christmas cards? With the price of stamps these days I just wonder if I’m the only one who has stopped doing that.

I also use bags rather than wrapping paper for gifts now. Bags I usually keep from the previous year plus the ones I buy the week following Christmas. Of course the Dollar Tree always have bags for all occasions every day. I even make my bags at times, when I’m feeling energized. Chee! I sure could use some energy right now. Or at least some caffeine. I’ve been caffeine free for a year now. After years of having a Coke or a Pepsi before my eyes were completely open I had to open a drain one day and the only thing I had was a Coke! It worked better than any other method I ever tried before and I suddenly realized that something that would open a clogged drain couldn’t be very good for my stomach.

Speaking of May, my Barbies are ready for prom night. Enjoy!